Historical Archives

Home Page

Archives Services






Historic Preservation



Online Collections

Park County Archives

Curator: Brian Beauvais
Archivist: Robyn Cutter

Park County Library Addition
1500 Heart Mountain Street, Room 140, Cody, WY 82414 
Mail to: 1501 Stampede Avenue, Unit 9001, Cody WY 82414
Cody: (307) 527-8530, Powell: (307) 754-8530
Toll Free: 1 (800) 786-2844  ext. 8530

Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Monday - Friday

History of Park County

The flags of five countries have flown over that part of Wyoming which is now Park County—the flags of Spain, Great Britain, Mexico, France and the United States. For many years it was in Dakota Territory. With the birth of statehood in 1890, Wyoming, the 44th state, was divided into five counties running from north to south across the state. What is now Park County was first a part of Sweetwater County, then Fremont County, and then Big Horn County, until 1909, when the Wyoming State Legislature defined and set aside the boundaries of Park County. An election in November 1910 determined that the county seat would be in Cody. Records have been kept in Park County since 1911. In 2009, the collections were moved to the Park County Library in the Park County Complex.